Contemporary Fiction, England, Inspirational, Loneliness, Romance, Women's Fiction

Blog Tour | Review | The Spare Bedroom by Elizabeth Neep

Jess accepted her ex-boyfriend’s offer to stay in his spare bedroom, but she was not counting on his plus-one.

Today we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for The Spare Bedroom by Elizabeth Neep. Our thanks to  Bookouture,  and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. ​


Blog Tour Banner - The Spare Bedroom, by Elizabeth Neep

Book Details

Title: The Spare Bedroom
Author: Elizabeth Neep
Tour Dates:  May 1st – 5th, 2020
Genre: Contemporary Romance,
​Inspirational Fiction, Women’s Fiction 
Publisher: Bookouture (May 1st, 2020)
eBook ASIN: B084ZNQ48C 


Book Description:
(By the Publisher)

Fun and friendly professional just arrived from London seeks room in central location, double bed preferred, ex-boyfriend optional extra. 

Armed with a super-sized backpack full of optimism, Jess sets off in search of sun, sea and a much-needed new beginning.

Things don’t get off to a good start.

Instead of sunshine, she’s met with torrential rain. Her job prospects are as dismal as the weather and that friend-of-a-friend she was meant to stay with has fallen through. Just as Jess is homeless, jobless and wishing she’d gone for the waterproof mascara, she runs into the last person she expected to see. Sam. The ex she never got over. Jess always believed that one day fate would bring them back together. Now he’s here, more gorgeous than ever.

Before she knows it, Jess is accepting Sam’s offer to stay in his spare room. But while she may have been less than truthful about the mess she’s in, there is also one rather important thing Sam has neglected to mention.

Suddenly Jess isn’t just living with her ex, but with his new girlfriend too. All of that baggage she thought she left behind may have caught up with her…

A touching, funny and uplifting look at how finding and losing love can lead you to discover yourself along the way. Fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Sophie Kinsella and classic rom coms like My Best Friend’s Wedding will love Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth.

Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google
These are not affiliate links


Review 

The Spare Bedroom is Elizabeth Neep’s debut novel, and it is surprising in many ways. 

​I chose this book because I wanted to escape to Romanceland, and forget all this dreadful news about the Corona Virus. The title and the blurb seemed the perfect combination of fun, romance, and a tiny bit of angst I was looking for. 

The first third of the book was hilarious! The whole situation the heroine found herself in was so outlandish that I could not but feel for her and hope she would find a way to bounce back with her dignity intact.

The author has a special talent for witty dialogue and I just could not put the book down.

Towards the middle of the book, the story takes a serious turn. The heroine starts to show her many layers. She is interesting because she is very flawed.

Jess is the kind of friend that you invite to crash on your sofa for the night, and she never leaves (lol). 

The book has two facets. The first, a lighthearted comedy, the second, an interesting story of a person blinded by heartbreak struggling to move on.

The story is focused on the heroine’s quest to rebuild her life, so it is not romance centered. 

I would recommend this book to those in search of an uplifting story of soul-searching and forgiveness.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.



About the Author:

Elizabeth Neep studied Law and Australian Law (University of Nottingham, University of New South Wales) before getting into publishing, where she now works as a senior commissioning editor for an independent press. She has written features for numerous publications including Cosmopolitan, Dazed Digital and PETRIe, is a trustee for a mental health charity and draws and paints in her spare time. She can usually be found with a flat white or glass of wine in hand around her home in London Bridge.

Website | Twitter | Instagram


30 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Review | The Spare Bedroom by Elizabeth Neep”

  1. I love a good romance, but I also love that this book sounds like there is a lot more to it. I need more books to read to help escape from this current situation so what would be better than an uplifting, soul searching romance, thanks for the suggestion!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m currently reading It’s Not Me, It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane and it sounds like Neep’s book has a similar vibe! I’ll have to check it out 😊 Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s