Architect, Blog Tour, Book Review, Contemporary Romance, Divorce, Enemies-to-lovers, England, Entrepreneur, Friendship, Loneliness, Romance, Strong Heroine, Sweet Hero, Widower Hero

Blog Tour | Review | The Little Shop in Cornwall by Helen Pollard

A delightfully funny romance!

Today, we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for The Little Shop in Cornwall by Helen Pollard. 

Our thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 


Book Details

Print Length: 382 pages
Publisher: Bookouture (June 15, 2020)
Publication Date: June 15, 2020
Language: English
ASIN: B0862J7Q5Z


Book Description

Claudia thought she knew how this summer was going to go. Turns out, she didn’t have a clue…

It’s been two years since Claudia arrived on the beautifully rugged Cornish coast with nothing but a suitcase to her name. She’d walked out on the husband who had never loved her, ditched the corporate job she’d never wanted and vowed that no gym membership card would come within ten feet of her ever again.

Swapping boardrooms and cocktails for a little shop right at the end of the beach road should have been a bit of a shock. But from the moment she first laid eyes on the empty, run-down store, Claudia knew this was where she was meant to be all along.

After all that upheaval, Claudia was looking forward to a quiet summer, full of the usual holiday makers and long walks along the clifftops. But life in her patch of paradise is about to change in more ways than one.

Enter recently widowed Jason, dragging his sullen teenage daughter Millie in tow. Millie and Claudia immediately hit it off. And while Millie loves everything about Claudia’s free-spirited way of life, practical architect Jason is less than thrilled about his daughter’s new interests. He doesn’t shy away from telling Claudia exactly what he thinks and sparks fly every time they meet.

But as circumstances throw Claudia into Jason’s path in increasingly unexpected ways, she begins to glimpse what lies beneath his fiery temper and sharp tongue. Claudia was sure her new life was perfect in every way. But was there something missing after all?

The perfect summer holiday escape, full of warmth, humour and heart. Fans of Sarah Morgan, Cathy Bramley and Phillipa Ashley will be charmed by this seaside romance.

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon  | Apple | Kobo | Google
These are not affiliate links



Review 

Claudia moved from London to Cornwall after a traumatic divorce and opened a store that sells crystals, soaps, candles, and the like. She is a little eccentric. She believes in the power of the moon, drinks goat milk, and is best friends with a witch.

Jason is an architect that moved to Cornwall with his teenage daughter after the passing of his wife. He has no time for what he thinks is silly superstition, and is less than thrilled to find out that his daughter Milly is constantly hanging around with Claudia.

The banter between Jason and Claudia was bewitching.

I loved that despite having very contrasting opinions about most subjects, both characters were very mature and relatable. They are this kind of person you cannot but like, even when you have to disagree with them.

There is a strong sense of family and community throughout the narrative. Jason’s relationship with his daughter is realistic and his love for her palpable.

All this wrapped up in dreamy descriptions of Cornwall’s beautiful coast and beaches.

A fun, light, feel-good summer read.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Try a sample


About the Author

As a child, Helen had a vivid imagination fueled by her love of reading, so she started to create her own stories in a notebook.

She still prefers fictional worlds to real life, believes characterization is the key to a successful book, and enjoys infusing her writing with humor and heart.

​  Website| FacebookTwitter  |Goodreads


28 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Review | The Little Shop in Cornwall by Helen Pollard”

  1. This sounds like such a great summer read, perfect for relaxing in the garden with a glass of wine and forgetting about everything else that is going on just now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds amazing! I don’t usually read books like this but it sounds like a lovely read and I love that it is set in Cornwall. I haven’t read many books like this but I’ll be adding this to my list to read in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds great! I’m glad they are able to have such differing opinions without belittle each other. The relationships sound real, which is always nice. As always great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s