Adultery, Blog Tour, Book Review, Contemporary Fiction, Crime and Mystery, England, Friendship, Investigator / Policeman, Landscaping Artist, Loneliness, Marriage, Older Hero, Second Chances, Sweet Hero, Widow Heroine

Blog Tour | Review | A Village Murder by Frances Evesham

Engrossing and light.

Today, we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for A Village Murder by Frances Evesham.

Our thanks to Boldwood BooksRachel Random Resources, and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 


Book Details

Title: A Village Murder
Pages: 247
Publication Date: Boldwood Books (June 23, 2020)
Language: English
ASIN: B08666VGW8


Book Description

An English village can be deadly, when your past catches up with you…

In the beautiful rural Somerset village of Lower Hembrow, crammed full with English eccentrics, something is amiss…

Landscape gardener Imogen Bishop has spent the last thirty years trying to forget one fateful school night but when her estranged husband Greg Bishop is found dead in the grounds of her fathers Georgian hotel, danger threatens to overwhelm her.

Retired police officer Adam Hennessey, hoping for a peaceful life running his traditional Somerset country pub, finds himself drawn into the unfolding drama in the hotel across the road.

Imogen, Adam and Harley the stray dog form an unlikely partnership as they try to untangle a knot of secrets, solve a murder mystery, and bring a killer to justice.

A brand new cosy mystery series from the bestselling author of Murder at the Lighthouse, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and M.C. Beaton.

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon
This is not an affiliate link



Review 

As a teenager, I was a fan of Agatha Christie. I loved the mystery and the wow feeling at the end of each book. It has been ages since I read one of her books, so I was thrilled when I was invited to take part in the blog tour for A Village Murder.

In A Village Murder, a man is found dead in a hotel in a peaceful town in the English countryside. His body is found by his wife Imogen, and by the former investigator, now pub owner, Adam Henessy.

Adam is my favorite kind of character: cheerful, funny, a little awkward. Definitively not the tall, dark, and handsome hero one expects. His inner beauty shines through, and I was touched by his unassuming way of leading the investigation.

Imogen found her dead husband’s body during her father’s funeral. A landscaping artist, her life was in shambles, but she found the strength to keep going and help Adam.

It is a little different from Agatha Christie, as it does not focus so intensely on the investigation itself.

Some side characters were very cunning and exciting. Imogen reconnects with her school friends as they all face middle-age and the weight of their life choices.

Harley, a stray dog, helps to build the cozy atmosphere of the story and to delineate the real disposition of the characters. I have to confess that I love books with dogs!

A Village Murder is an enjoyable read with a lovely setting and very charming characters.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Try a sample


Next Stops


About the Author:

One day, Frances Evesham walked on a beach in peaceful Somerset and came upon a unique nine-legged Victorian lighthouse. Her first cosy crime story, Murder at the Lighthouse, was born.

Now, she writes mystery stories: the Exham on Sea contemporary cozy crime series set in a small Somerset seaside town, and the Thatcham Hall Mysteries, 19th Century historical mystery romances set in Victorian England.

Website Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | BookBub | Goodreads


14 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Review | A Village Murder by Frances Evesham”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s