Blog Tour, Book Review, Contemporary Romance, Depression, England, Entrepreneur, Family, Fashion Designer, Friends-to-lovers, Friendship, Grief, Inspirational, Loneliness, Romance, Strong Heroine, Sweet Hero, Swoony Hero, USA, Women's Fiction

Blog Tour | Review | The Village Shop for Lonely Hearts by Alison Sherlock

A Sweet Story about Finding Home and Losing your Heart.

Today, we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for The Village Shop for Lonely Hearts by Alison Sherlock.

Our thanks to Boldwood BooksRachel Random Resources, and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 

The Village Shop for Lonely Hearts is a lovely story about loneliness, friendship, and community.


Book Details

Title: The Village Shop for Lonely Hearts by Alison Sherlock.
Pages: 316
Publication Date: Boldwood Books (July 9, 2020)
Language: English
ASIN: B086WXB5BD


Book Description

A feel-good story of new beginnings set in a gorgeous country village.  Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Milly Johnson.

After losing her job in New York, Amber Green isn’t looking forward to visiting her godmother in the sleepy village of Cranbridge. With its empty lanes and rundown shops, it’s hardly a place to mend her lonely heart.

But when Amber discovers that Cranbridge Stores, owned by her godmother Cathy and son Josh, is under threat of financial ruin, she realises that her skills as a window dresser might just be able to help save the struggling shop.

When disaster strikes, Amber and Josh must unite to save both the shop and the village from flooding.

Can Cranbridge Stores become the heart of the village once more?
And as the village begins to come back to life, perhaps Amber will discover a reason to stay…

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon
This is not an affiliate link



Review 

Amber was a British expatriate in New York, working as a window designer for Saks 5th Avenue. She is very lonely in the big city but finds comfort in her creative work.

When she is fired, and her working visa is revoked, she realizes she has no home to go back to, as her parents had moved to New Zealand.

Lost and a little hurt by the situation, she ends up going to visit her godmother Cathy in Cranbridge, a small and deserted English town. She planned to stay for a few weeks to get herself together before following her parents to New Zealand.

But plans changed, as they often do, when she started to help Cathy and her son Josh to take care of their dilapidated and near-bankrupt shop.

Amber was so talented and yet so full of doubts about herself. Josh was in turmoil, trying to shield his mother from the problems and, at the same time, having a hard time to convince her that things had to change.

The story is lovely. All characters were facing challenges and trying to cope with change. They were good, honorable, relatable, and I was immediately invested in their happiness.

The author inserted some relevant themes throughout the story without overdoing it: senility, grief, illness, bullying, loneliness, and even environmental concerns.

Overall, a romantic and engrossing read.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Try a sample


Next stops


About the Author:

Alison Sherlock is the author of the bestselling Willow Tree Hall books. Alison enjoyed reading and writing stories from an early age and gave up office life to follow her dream. Her new series for Boldwood is set in a fictional Cotswold Village and the first title will be published in July 2020.

 Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Bookbub


Tap to pin

20 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Review | The Village Shop for Lonely Hearts by Alison Sherlock”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s