Artist, Blog Tour, Book Review, Celebrity, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Enemies-to-lovers, Entrepreneur, Family, Farmer, Friendship, Happiness, Loneliness, Relationships, Romance, Strong Heroine, Swoony Hero, Unrequited Love

Home at Summer’s End by Alys Murray | #BlogTour #BookReview @writeralys @Bookouture #NetGalley #ContemporaryRomance

Flower-shop-girl meets Hollywood Star

Today, we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for Home at Summer’s End by Alys Murray.

Our thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 

Home at Summer’s End is a story of loving people for what they really are, despite all misleading appearances.


Book Details

Title: Home at Summer’s End by Alys Murray.
Publisher: Bookouture (October 15, 2020)
Print Lenght: 249 pages
Language: English
ASIN: B08F7VJBRC


Book Description

Rose Anderson is done with being known as “the nice one” in the small town in Northern California where she lives. She’s done with playing third, fifth, seventh wheel at loud gatherings on her family’s flower farm. And most of all, she is done with the pitying looks and well-meaning comments she gets about her single status from the way-too-interested townsfolk.

No one seems to care that she’s single by choice. That she actually enjoys going to bed early with a good book—love stories are always better in fiction anyway. Busy with her flower arranging business, Rose has no time for a man, thank you very much. So when news spreads that Hillsboro is being used to shoot an upcoming Hollywood movie, Rose gets an idea. One that will appease her family while keeping her heart safely intact…

Cole McKittrick is trying to keep calm. So what if he quit a steady TV gig for a shot at his dream, was dumped by his superstar girlfriend and—having just read the fifteenth script re-write—is now convinced this movie is going to be career-ending? It’s all about perspective. And when he meets the beautiful Rose Anderson, he can’t believe his luck. She’ll help him fix his lines, pose for a few shots to make his ex jealous, and all for the bargain price of a few fake dates.

But in a town like Hillsboro, the resident beauty queen and Hollywood’s hottest bachelor can’t expect a plan like this to work. And the more time they spend together under the scrutiny of their neighbors, the more blurred the lines become between what’s real and what’s fake.

But Cole has been hiding a big secret from his past. And when Rose finds out could it spell CUT for their picture-perfect romance, or will she realize that he has taken over not just her home, but her heart…?

A fun, charming romance about family and finding the one, perfect for fans of Robyn Carr, Debbie Macomber and Carolyn Brown.

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google
These are not affiliate links



Review 

Rose Anderson owned a flower shop in a small town selling the flowers produced on her family’s farm.

She loved the peaceful and quiet town and was content with her life choices. She wished her family and friends would understand that, instead of keeping matchmaking and worrying about her absent love life.

Their intentions were good, but they were quite over the top.

Rose’s friend Annie, a social media mogul, went as far as to set Rose up on a date with Cole McKittrick, a beautiful Hollywood star in town to film a movie.

Rose and Cole had nothing in common. He was a celebrity trying to recover from a public breakup, and Rose wanted nothing to do with the spotlight.

Thrown together, Rose and Cole agreed on a fake relationship to end her family meddling. Rose, in return, would help Cole developing his romantic role in the movie and making his ex jealous.

The story is very romantic. Two people with preconceived ideas about each other slowly getting close and seeing beyond mere appearances.

I like that together they found balance and figured out what is really important in life.

I’m a sucker for fake relationships, and Home at Summer’s End is a sweet and romantic read.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Try a sample


About the Author

Alys Murray is an author who writes for the romantic in all of us. Though she graduated with a degree in Drama from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and a Master’s in Film Studies from King’s College London, her irrepressible love of romance led her to a career as an author, and she couldn’t be happier to write these stories!

Her debut novel, The Christmas Company, was the first original Christmas novel published by Hallmark, and it is currently optioned for a future Hallmark Christmas movie. Additionally, Alys pens screenplays for Lifetime. You can see her work most recently in 2019’s Christmas in Louisiana, starring Jana Kramer, Percy Daggs III, Moira Kelly, Dee Wallace, and Barry Bostwick.

She enjoys kissing books, Star Wars, and reminding people that Michael Bay has two movies in the Criterion Collection. Tobey Maguire is her Spider-Man. 

​  Website| Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads


4 thoughts on “Home at Summer’s End by Alys Murray | #BlogTour #BookReview @writeralys @Bookouture #NetGalley #ContemporaryRomance”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s