Blog Tour, Book Review, Career, Cheating, Clean, Cross Class, Divorce, Early 1900s, England, Family, Friends-to-lovers, Friendship, Grief, Happiness, Historical Fiction, Illness, In her 20s, Loneliness, Marriage, Marriage of Convenience, Milliner, Relationships, Strong Heroine, Sweet Hero, Violence, Women's Fiction, Workplace

The Hat Girl from Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson | #BlogTour #BookReview @LHutchAuthor @BoldwoodBooks @Rararesources #NetGalley #HistoricalFiction

Heartbreaking!

Today, we are thrilled to be the stop on the Blog Tour for The Hat Girl from Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson

Our thanks to Boldwood BooksRachel Random Resources, and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 


Book Details

Title: The Hat Girl from Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson
Publisher: Boldwood Books  (March 4, 2021)
Pages: 358
Language: English
ASIN: B08PP5BST4


Book Description

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson take you back in time to the Victorian Black Country, for a tale of love, hardship and fighting against the odds to succeed.

Life is tough for Ella Bancroft. After her father, Thomas, is wheelchair-bound by an accident at the tube works, the responsibility for keeping a roof over their head falls to Ella. Ella’s mother died when she was ten, and her sister Sally lives with her no-good, work-shy husband Eddy, so is no help at all.  If she and her father are to keep the bailiffs from the door, then Ella must earn a living.

But Ella is resourceful as well as creative, and soon discovers she has a gift for millinery. Setting up shop in the front room of their two-up, two-down home in Silver Street, Walsall, Ella and Thomas work hard to establish a thriving business. Before long, the fashionable ladies of the Black Country are lining up to wear one of Ella’s beautiful creations, and finally Ella dares to hope for a life with love, friendship and family.

Meeting the man she longs to marry should be a turning point for Ella, but life’s twists and turns can be cruel. As the winter grows colder, events seem to conspire to test Ella’s spirit. And by the time spring is approaching, will the hat girl of Silver Street triumph, or will Ella have to admit defeat as all her dreams are tested.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, unforgettable, page-turning story of love, life and battling against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon
These are not affiliate links



Review 

Ella Bancroft was a milliner, and together with her father, started selling her hat creations from their home.

Her sister’s greed, her previous employer’s jealousy, and her father’s heart condition stood on Ella’s way to success and happiness.

I particularly enjoyed her father and his strength of will, even after losing his legs’ movement in a working accident.

The story had several layers, and it was interesting to learn more about how hats were made back in the early 1900s.

I was caught by surprise by the end. I felt a little lost after turning the last page. Be sure to have some tissues at hand!

The Hat Girl from Silver Street is a story of loss, family, friendship, and heartbreak.

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review



Other Stops


About the Author

I was born and raised in Wednesbury, West Midlands. I am married with two children and three grandchildren. I now live in the Shropshire countryside with my husband and Labrador. Typing up the manuscripts for my mother (Meg Hutchinson) rekindled my love of story telling and it seems I am destined to follow in her footsteps. Retired now, I continue to teach an evening dance class. I love to read, I enjoy photography, as well as socialising with friends. I also love to holiday in exotic places.


I feel truly blessed to have books published; the next, Minnie’s Orphans, is out in October 2020, and I’m working on yet another!
I would like to thank all those who have bought my books and especially those who have taken the time to review them. These reviews are very important to an author so… keep ’em coming please!

Twitter | Amazon


5 thoughts on “The Hat Girl from Silver Street by Lindsey Hutchinson | #BlogTour #BookReview @LHutchAuthor @BoldwoodBooks @Rararesources #NetGalley #HistoricalFiction”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s