Archeologist, Blacksmith, Blog Tour, Book Review, Car accident, Career, Dual time-period, England, Family, Friends-to-lovers, Friendship, Guilt, Happiness, Historical Romance, In her 20s, In his 20s, Loneliness, Nobility/ Peerage Hero, Relationships, Road Trip, Romance, Strong Heroine, Sweden, Sweet Hero, Sweet Pet, Swoony Hero, Time-Travel, Unrequited Love, Viking Age, Violence, Warrior, Young Hero

Whispers of the Runes by Christina Courtenay | #BlogTour #BookReview #Giveaway @PiaCCourtenay @headlinepg @rararesources #NetGalley #HistoricalRomance #Viking

Two hearts. Two different eras.

Whispers of the Runes is an entrancing time-slip romance that takes the reader to the time of the Vikings. 

The book is not formally part of a series, but it is connected to the characters of some of the author’s previous books: Echoes of the Runes and Runes of Destiny. I enjoyed all of them and reviewed the last one on the blog (click on the title to read my review). 

Our thanks to the author, Headline Publishing GroupRachel Random Resources, and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. 


Book Details

ASIN : B08MFRW357
Publisher: 
Headline (June 24, 2021)
Language: 
English


Book Description

Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history. The bestselling author of Echoes of the Runes spins a thrilling and epic new timeslip tale, perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine.

Time is no barrier for a love that is destined to be.

When jewellery designer Sara Mattsson is propelled back to the ninth century, after cutting herself on a Viking knife she uncovers at an archaeological dig, she is quick to accept what has happened to her. For this is not the first Sara has heard of time travel.

Although acutely aware of the danger she faces when she loses the knife – and with it her way to return to her own time – this is also the opportunity of a lifetime. What better way to add authenticity to the Viking and Anglo-Saxon motifs used in her designs?

As luck has it, the first person Sara encounters is Rurik Eskilsson, a fellow silversmith, who is also no stranger to the concept of time travel. Agreeing that Sara can accompany him to Jorvik, they embark on a journey even more perilous than one through time. But Fate has brought these two kindred spirits together across the ages for a reason…

From the Publisher’s Blurb

Amazon

These are not affiliate links



Review 

Rurik was a favorite of mine from the previous book (Runes of Destiny), and I’m glad to inform you that he officially joined my list of fictional crushes.

Middle brother in a Viking landed family, Rurik left his older brother’s home after he married the woman Rurik loved. Heartbroken and disillusioned, Rurik traveled to another city to start a blacksmith shop but ended up being the only survivor of a shipwreck.

Alone in a place away from home, he met Sarah, a woman strangely dressed who came from the future. Irritated to have been settled with someone to take care of, he reluctantly agreed to let her travel with him to the city of Jorvik (currently York, England). 

This romance has all the elements I most love in the genre: a loyal and honorable hero, a strong heroine, a slow-burn connection, and the right amount of unrequited love and angst.

Both Rurik and Sarah were simply adorable. I could not put the book down until the very end.

The side characters were intense and exciting, including some actual fearsome historical figures from the Vikings era. I love a sweet pet, and Beowulf, their dog, was perfect in his fierce and loyal way.

Whispers of the Runes is a lovely and well-written time slip romance with wonderful characters.

Highly recommended!

Disclosure: I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Try a sample


Yay, a Giveaway

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organizer and used only for fulfillment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize. This giveaway is brought to you by the author/ publisher and is in no way sponsored or administered by this blog.


Other Stops


About the Author

Half English/half Swedish, grew up in Sweden, then moved to Japan for a while.
Writes historical romance/adventure stories and time slip. Also YA romance as Pia Fenton.
Former Chairman of Romantic Novelist’s Association.

 WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads | Instagram


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s